Public Safety & Courts

Public Safety & Courts

  • Sheriff’s Office – County of Ventura
    The Ventura County Sheriff’s Office is comprised of four primary divisions: Patrol Division,  Detention Division, Special Services Division and Support Services Division.
  • Sheriff Patrol Services Division
    Our Patrol Division services the County of Ventura and the five contract cities of Camarillo, Fillmore, Moorpark, Ojai, and Thousand Oaks, as well as the unincorporated areas of Ventura County. Within Patrol are also our Mounted Unit, K-9 Unit, Sheriff’s Communications Center and the Office of Emergency Services.
  • Sheriff Detention Services Division
    This includes all inmate services such as reception, booking and classification, jail services, court room and pre-trial security. Currently there are three jail facilities.
  • Sheriff Special Services Division
    The Special Services Division encompasses specially trained and staffed units that deal with unique law enforcement situations. These services include Major Crimes Investigations, Narcotics Investigations, and Intelligence & Vice Investigations, Aviation Unit, Search & Rescue, Tactical Negations Team, Special Weapons and Tactics Team (S.W.A.T.), and the Sheriff’s Bomb Squad. The Special Services Davison also includes the Crime Laboratory, Crime Scene Investigations Unit, and the Information Systems Bureau.
  • Sheriff Support Services Division
    This includes important internal departments that are essential to the structure and operational needs of VCSD across a wide variety of areas. These departments include the Business Office, Human Resources, Professional Standards Bureau, Records, and our Training Academy Staff.
  • Probation Agency
    The Probation Agency’s mission is to provide community safety through a system of graduated sanctions that balance service to the victim, offender, and community.  The Probation Agency is divided into four divisions including Probation Services, Institutions  Services, Administrative Services and Business Services.


City Police Departments
The County of Ventura Sheriff Department covers the unincorporated areas of Ventura County and contracts with the five cities of Camarillo, Fillmore, Moorpark, Ojai, and Thousand Oaks.  The cities of Oxnard, Port Hueneme, Santa Paula, Simi Valley and Ventura have their own Police Departments.


Courts & Legal Information
Where to go for information and assistance with all that involves law enforcement and justice. Traffic tickets, jury  service, juvenile justice, abuse prevention, most wanted.

  • Grand Jury
    The function of the Grand Jury is to act as a civil oversight of county and city government, special districts, governing boards, personnel commissions, school districts, and humane officers. It is their responsibility to insure that government is serving the best interests of Ventura County’s citizens.


Related Links