Font Size:

The Air Pollution Control District (APCD) Hearing Board is an independent, quasi-judicial body established by state law to grant variances; uphold or overturn APCD decisions regarding permit denials and operating conditions on permits; settle certain disputes such as emissions banking, revoke permits to operate, issue orders of abatement, and allow citizen appeals.

The Hearing Board consists of five members appointed by the Air Pollution Control Board for three-year terms. The Board's membership must be comprised of: one member who is admitted to the practice of law in the State of California; one member who is a registered professional engineer; one member who is a representative of the medical profession; and two public members.

link dblArrow Archived Meetings exitdisclaimer
link dblArrowCurrent Hearing Board Ordersexitdisclaimer
link dblArrowResearch Air Pollution Control Board Petition Recordsexitdisclaimer



Public Members:          Mike Stubblefield - Chair
                                       Stephen C. Hurlock, Ph.D

Medical Profession:    Steven Bansbach M.D. - Vice Chair

Law:                              Daniel J. Murphy

Engineer:                      Robert M. Karman

Contact Information

Air Pollution Control District:

669 County Square Drive
Second Floor
Ventura, CA 93003

Hours of Operation: Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
    (Closed between 12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.)

Daniel Searcy, Compliance Manager - Call (805) 645-1494, or email

Clerk of the Board:

800 S. Victoria Avenue, L#1920
Ventura, CA 93009-1920

Located in the Ventura County Government Center
                       Hall of Administration, Fourth Floor

Hours of Operation: Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Phone: (805) 654-2251


NOTE: As a convenience to our visitors, this page may contain links to external websites that are not managed or controlled by the County of Ventura.